Dear @David_Cameron

Dear Mr Cameron,

I’ve had a good idea.  (I should warn you, I’m into people more than politics.  Sadly these two don’t seem to go together any more, do they?  I do think this suggestion might solve some of your problems though.)

So, here it is:

As I’m sure you know, single parents can only manage to keep their families alive by relying on benefits.  I know we’re fortunate to have them, but it’s not enough to live on, it’s only enough for very basic survival.  The Child Support Agency is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike, and there is currently no legislation in place to force absent parents to support their children in any way.  We can’t get jobs because no employer is prepared to give us 3-4 months off work a year so that we can look after our own children during the school holidays.  Childminders, nurseries and other babysitters are not only extremely expensive – they cost as much as we earn – but they don’t do nearly as good a job as we do.

(It might help to remind you here that most of the dissatisfied youth who were rioting in 2011 were from single parent families, out working during the school holidays to make ends meet, thus leaving their children to roam unsupervised.  I haven’t got the actual figures, but I’m sure you have.)

And we want to work.  It’s horrible not being able to support your own family, its demoralising being so powerless and we’re being forced to set a bad example to our kids.  Believe me, we’re isolated enough without being refused entry to the workplace as well.

Students suffer similar problems.  They too have to sign off from Life.  From the minute they start to study, they not only stop earning a living but also owe you a huge amount of money.  I’m sure they’d like to work some of that off as soon as possible, and support themselves into the bargain, but what employer would only need them 3-4 months of the year?

I’m sure you’re there already, but just in case:

Jobshare!  The single parent could do it during term time, and the student during the holidays.  Your Benefits costs would go down immediately, and your Student Loans would be paid back sooner.  And if you gave employers an incentive to put a scheme like this into place, well, I can’t see why it wouldn’t work.  Good idea, isn’t it?!  I think so.

But then again, I’m not into politics.  I’m into people.  Maybe we should talk to each other?  I’m free all day every day – during term time.

With love and hope, you just never know,

Annabel xx


11 Comments on “Dear @David_Cameron”

  1. anthony hird says:

    Well said. An excellent idea.

  2. Danny Greenstone says:

    Every word ringing with honesty, clarity and sense, Annabel. Now where can Mr. Cameron go out and shop for those?

  3. J Baker says:

    Oh God. Please don’t give him any ideas about making teachers and assistants work yet more hours during the school holidays. I currently work about 50 hours a week and get paid slightly more than the cleaner…..and no – contrary to popular belief, we don’t get paid for the holidays. Our salary is pro rata which is actually Latin for bog all.

  4. Chris Verrall says:

    Did you copy this to your local MP? If you do that you can then set up meeting in the Constituency Office to discuss the matter. Realistically you stand more chance of being heard that way as it is unlikely you’ll get an invite to Downing Street to talk to Mr C. It is also quite probable that his received tweets are read by one of his secretaries and not by him.

  5. margaret smith says:

    well said anna do you know about the bedroom tax thats going to make thousands homeless

  6. Colleen McManus says:

    Over the years my son`s `sperm donor` contributed the grand total of £125 to him. WOW I can hear you all saying…wasn`t I the lucky one!! Now, IDS why not go after these `men`, and I use the word very loosely, No matter what the age of the child!!! It matters not that my son is now 20…he hasn`t always been so!!! If you want to recoup your benefits then go after this tribe of no hopers!!! Annabel…BRILLIANT piece!!

  7. kate brown says:

    bloody brilliant. Stand for parliament, I would vote for you.

  8. p pascoe says:

    yes i also agree. makes common sence…….

  9. Andy Eva says:

    At last its refreshing to read a piece about single parents which tells it like it REALLY is


Leave a comment