We can’t let this happen.

I haven’t posted for a while, because I got fed up with the Daily Mail etc nicking my blogs and making it look as if I’d written for them.  Somehow I don’t think they’ll be reproducing any of the following:

 

I’m very British, and so my natural inclination is to sigh and tut and bitch about world events; the only action I’ve taken so far is to re-post stuff on social media, often whilst sitting on the loo or a comfy sofa or even lying in bed, and that’s it – I’ve done my part thanks.

But we are in the middle of some sort of revolution which, if we’re not careful, could go backwards instead of forwards.  It’s definitely time for change, but we must make sure it’s for the better.

I’m old enough to have seen the world changing really quickly.  Gone are the days of Britain as depicted in cosy Sunday night tv costume dramas, and that’s a good thing.  We no longer have workhouses, we look after our sick and our poor, we educate our children.

But we’ve still got the landowners telling us what to do and how to do it.  They’re used to running things, they were brought up to believe that they are uniquely equipped to help us make better decisions for ourselves.  Unfortunately, some of us have come up with a few ideas of our own, and we’re getting good at making them heard.  And we don’t like most of their ideas any more.  And the louder we become, the more their ring of control is tightening.

Which is why it would be madness to leave the EU.  Please don’t swipe me away, Leavers, this is for you too.  You said at the time that you wanted to get control of our country back from the Europeans, which is a perfectly understandable viewpoint, but who are you giving it to instead?  The current government don’t have your interests at heart; they’re dismantling the NHS, they’re cutting benefits, our schools are somewhere around the bottom of the educational league tables of the 25th richest countries in the world (see Link 1).  In short, they’re more about money than people.

Personally, I’m more about people than money.  I like knowing that I’m entitled to work, live and retire anywhere in the EU and I’ll still get my state pension, that I’m free to come and go as I please.  I like the fusion of different cultures (language, food, music etc) right here on my doorstep, where I have neighbours of different nationalities.  I like knowing I’m entitled to free medical care when I’m travelling around the EU.  I’m grateful for the subsidies for our farmers and the funding for university research, to make the world a better place.  I enjoy the security that comes from being part of a bigger, colourful country than just a tiny island full of terrified control freaks, with everyone scrabbling for money and jobs and no holiday or maternity pay, and the highest university fees in Europe.  When people feel desperate they behave accordingly.  You think it’s getting nasty now?  You wait.

I hate change as much as the next person, but we have a choice: either we do our best to block all of those horrible people who want to live here and contribute to our economy (for the benefits question please see link 2 below), or we welcome them with open arms and work out what would help everybody live happily together.  (And we mustn’t forget that we can go to their country of origin to live, whenever we like.)  Either we grow old and bitter and twisted, stuck, knowing there’s nowhere else to go and live, or we keep our options open and share our language, food and music etc with our fellow citizens of the EU.

As a parent, I believe it is our duty to move on with the times, with our children and keep striving to make the world a better place.  This Brexit referendum seems to have  divided our nation further, rather than brought us together as one big happy family.  Is that really what we want, to be fighting with each other?

I also think it’s OK to say we made a mistake.  Here’s why:

1. The referendum was an opinion poll, not a legally binding vote.
2. Nobody, nobody knew the true ramifications of leaving the EU.
2. Both sides lied apparently, but the Leave campaigns ‘alternative facts’ were admitted to being false the very next day, by themselves. The big red bus was a big fat lie.
3. Therefore, the results of the poll should be declared null and void. People did not know what they were talking about or voting for.
4. Now that it is clear that leaving the EU will bring disaster for not only the UK but the rest of Europe, the government should be doing its damndest to look after its citizens.
5. It is, therefore, not appropriate to be calling this outcome ‘the will of the people’ now. It was then, because the facts were being made up by people using us to further their own careers. Theresa May is also guilty of this, having originally been a Remainer.
6. What MP, in full conscience, can – now that more consequences have been laid bare – honestly give their vote, awarded by their constituents who will suffer terribly, to leaving the EU?
7. It’s not about winning and losing, it’s about doing the right thing for as many as possible. Leave the personalities behind, and think about the whole country.
8. America can get rid of Trump in four years; we are on the brink of making a huge mistake which will last a lot longer than that.

 

And finally, if you agree with me and think we are facing a really, really important decision and you feel like actually doing something about it, I look forward to seeing you here:

 

16195701_10155842957509368_6578485886251172383_n.jpg

Thank you for getting to the end. Rant over, but not finished – yet.

 

LINK 1:  http://www.statisticsviews.com/details/feature/8493411/Understanding-Income-Inequality-and-its-Implications-Why-Better-Statistics-Are-N.html

LINK 2: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-25134521 

Leave a Reply

